The Nazareth Motherhouse was built in Concordia, Kansas in 1903 by the Sisters of St. Joseph. The first Sisters of St. Joseph united in LePuy Fancy in 1650. The Sisters of St Joseph of Concordia were founded in Newton, Kansas in 1883 and moved to Concordia in 1884. At one time there were more than 600 Sisters, but today there are around 160 in the United States and Brazil.
Three story Stafford Hall was added to the back of the Motherhouse in 1970. It provides a residence for retired sisters and a swimming pool that is sharred with the community.
copyright 2008-2010 by Keith Stokes